LCL logo

Home

Banner image
Research Resources

Resource of the Month: February's Resource of the Month is Mango Languages, offering 12 different language courses.

Resources are grouped into these categories:
Arts   
Automotive   
Books & literature   
Business, Consumer & Employment   
Directories   
Education   
Genealogy   
Geography   
Health   
History & Biography   
Language   
Law   
Periodicals & news   
Religion   
Science   
Miscellaneous   

Login to these resources is automatic from most computers located within Lincoln City Libraries facilities.

Unless otherwise noted, off-site access is also available for Lincoln City Libraries cardholders; contact Library staff for login information.

Arts resources:
NewAmerican Song   Recordings and information about the history of American music. This resource includes the material formerly included in African American Song.
CAMIO (Catalog of Art Museum Images Online)   High-quality art images. Access is available only from within Lincoln City Libraries facilities.
Classical Music Library   Archive of classical music recordings and information about classical music.
NewContemporary World Music   Recordings and information about contemporary music from around the world.
NewJazz Music Library   Comprehensive collection of streaming jazz.
Smithsonian Global Sound   Recordings and information about music from around the world.
Theatre in Video   Videos of plays and documentaries about theater.
 
Automotive Information:
Auto Repair Reference Center   Automotive repair information.
 
Books & literature resources:
eBooks from Books24x7   Electronic books with an emphasis on computer hardware and software, business, and health and well-being. Note: registration is required to use this resource
Books in Print   Database of books available from publishers.
Dear Reader Online Book Clubs   Book excerpts by e-mail.
Downloadable Audiobooks from OverDrive   Downloadable audiobooks (these may be checked out, but not downloaded on Library computers)
Fiction Connection   Help for finding good books to read.
Literature Resource Center   Information on more than 120,000 writers; this resource incorporates the Contemporary Authors database.
netLibrary   Electronic books.
NoveList   Help for finding good books to read.
NoveList K-8   A special version of NoveList for kids.
WorldCat   Access to the holdings records of libraries around the world.
 
Business, Consumer & Employment resources:
Business Reference e-Books   A collection of electronic business reference books.
NewJobNow
powered by brainfuse
  Live interactive help and other resources for job seekers. Live help available from 2:00-11:00 PM each day.
The Kiplinger Letter   Business information.
Morningstar® Investment Research Center   Business and investment information.
Nebraska Small Business Forms   Small business forms for use in Nebraska.
Prices for Antiques (p4A Antiques Reference)   Information about antiques and collectibles.
ReferenceUSA - Businesses   Nationwide business directory.
Small Business Resource Center   Information on starting and maintaining a successful small business.
Value Line® Investment Survey   Business and investment information.
 
Directories:
ReferenceUSA - Businesses   Nationwide business directory.
ReferenceUSA - Residential   Nationwide telephone directory.
 
Education resources:
NewHomework HelpNow
powered by brainfuse
  Online tutoring and homework help for grades 3-12. Service available from 2:00-11:00 PM each day.
Teacher Reference Center   Information for teachers and professional educators.
Testing & Education Reference Center   Information about colleges, graduate schools, and scholarships; includes on-line practice tests and test prep eBooks.
 
Genealogy resources:
Ancestry Library Edition   Genealogy information. Access is available only from within Lincoln City Libraries facilities.
NewArchiveGrid   Index to historical archives. Access is available only from within Lincoln City Libraries facilities.
HeritageQuest Online   Genealogy information.
 
Geography resources:
Geography Reference e-Books   Electronic Reference books about places and cultures.
 
Health resources:
NewConsumer Health Complete   Consumer-oriented health information.
Health and Medicine Reference e-Books   Electronic Reference books on health and medicine.
 
History & Biography resources:
NewArchiveGrid   Index to historical archives. Access is available only from within Lincoln City Libraries facilities.
Biography Resource Center   Biographical information.
History Reference e-Books   A collection of electronic history reference books.
Wilson Biography Reference Bank (& Omnifile)   Biographical database and periodicals index.
 
Language resources:
Mango Languages   Lessons in nine foreign languages, plus English for speakers of other languages.
NewOxford Language Dictionaries   Dictionary for translating between English and six other languages.
 
Law resources:
LegalForms   Legal forms for use in Nebraska.
West's Encyclopedia of American Law   Information on legal issues.
 
Periodicals and news resources:
NewEBSCO MasterFile Premier   Full-text magazine articles and reference sources.
eLibrary (formerly Electric Library)   Articles from selected magazines, newspapers (including the Omaha World Herald), books, and radio and TV broadcasts.
NewLincoln Journal Star   Coverage of the Lincoln Journal Star from June 1996 to the present.
New York Times   Coverage from 1981-present.
Wilson Omnifile (& Biography Reference Bank)   Full-text magazine articles and biographical database.
 
Religion resources:
Religion Reference e-Books   Electronic Reference books about religions and religious issues. (Currently includes only the Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World)
 
Science resources:
Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia   Detailed zoological information.
 
Miscellaneous resources:
FirstSearch   Eleven databases on a variety of topics.
Gale Virtual Reference Library   Electronic Reference Books.
Kids InfoBits   Information resources for students in Kindergarten through Grade 5.
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA)   Information about Library and Information Science.
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center   Information on social issues.